On Being Burgled

November 18, 2009

As funny as the word “burgled” is, my fiancee, and maybe myself, was a victim of theft. This Sunday, November 15, while on a long hike, my fiancee’s car had her rear passenger window smashed in and her was purse stolen.

Imagine a 1988 Celebrity instead of this car.

Not our car but you get the idea of a broken car window.

I remember the moments leading up to finding out about the vandalism and theft. We had explored the Standing Bear Lake hiking areas for around 2 hours. We were on the last leg of the hike when I saw the window smashed out. We ran over to the car to see what had happened and found Andi’s, my fiancee, purse missing.

We called the cops and left a message on the crime reporting hotline voicemail: a rather lackluster system of crime fighting, but on the other hand, we are in a city with a pretty busy police department. We then called up her bank and her main credit card company to shut down her credit card.

Throughout the first few hours of regaining some of the bearings on her missing finances, we both had to push down and anger and tears to get the important things done. To be fair to my lady, I couldn’t be anywhere near as fearful or angry as she could, since it was not my identity missing or my car broken into.

We finished up closing the rest of her accounts and card services that evening and that following Monday morning.

We finally recieved a call from the police on Tuesday night, and the best we can get is a report filed. The Omaha Police Department is overwhelmed by many other issues and understaffed/overworked to be fair.  On our end, Andi and I are used to small town law-enforcement with a little more time to spend on these issues.

We still wait to see if anything will go missing or change from her accounts and we are lucky nothing else has happened, but until then, we are comforted by Facebook comments:

Facebook Comments

Comments from status update of the theft.

Edit: To be fair, the purse was left in plain sight in the back seat. Not exactly the safest thing, but it still feels rotten though. :/

Leave a comment